British Universities and Colleges Sport


British University and Colleges Sport (BUCS)

The Universities Pool Council hosts an annual competition between British University pool teams and this is now fully recognised by BUCS, the national organisation for all higher education sport in the UK. Each University can enter up to three independent teams which we have taken full advantage of in the past.

The 2013 competition was a success for Oxford, with the 1st team winning the team event, the 2nd team reaching the semi-finals.

To date there have been 8 team competitions and 9 singles championships. Oxford have been team champions 7 times, and have produced 7 singles champions.

Match reports are available on the left.

2013 - Oxford team champions. Hannah Smith (Brasenose) runner up in singles.
2012 - No Championships held.
2011 - Oxford team champions. 
Conny Meisenberg (Wolfson) singles winner.
          Louisa Gill (Harris Manchester) runner up.
2010 - Conny Meisenberg (Wolfson) singles winner.
2009 - Oxford team champions. Louisa Gill (Harri
s Manchester) singles winner.
2008 - Oxford team champions. Nicola Hoskins (Trinity) singles winner.
2007 - Oxford team champions. Nicola Hoskins (Trinity) singles winner.
2006 - Oxford team champions. Stephanie Meidinger (Harris Manchester) singles winner.
2005 - Oxford team champions. Sarah Milham (Merton) runner up in singles.
2004 - No team event. Jaz Venning (Pembroke) singles winner.
          Fiona Riddock (Oriel) runner up.

For further information contact the committee on or visit the UPC website.